Nobody Likes a Smartass

A few weeks ago I helped write something on bullshit copyright, trademark and patent disputes, despite the fact I wrote an example which talked about how the cure for fucking cancer could be patented, people only seemed to care that the article only contained the word “copyright”. Like this guy, who wanted to tell me personally.

-

From [redacted]

Subject: Problem with your “copyright” article.

Hello Karl.

I’m sending you this message to ask that you change the title of the recent article you wrote, “5 everyday things you won’t believe are copyrighted” the entries you list aren’t copyright, they’re trademark issues and I don’t appreciate that you’re perpetuating ignorance.

Please change it.

-

To [redacted]

Subject: Problem with your “copyright” article.

Hello.

First things first, I co-wrote that article. Why do the guys complaining always contact me? It’s the name isn’t it? People are naturally attracted to a Smallwood, it’s my curse, I’ve learned to deal with it. But damn is it fucking annoying.

Also, I can’t change titles, if I could I’d change it to, “Everyone who complains about this title is a cock mongerer“. After seeing exactly one message from you, I can tell that title would work perfectly.

Cheers.

-

From [redacted]

Subject: Problem with your “copyright” article.

Karl.

Your attitude is very unprofessional. I’m trying to do you a favour, do you want people to see your name and automatically associate it with ignorance and stupidity?

-

To [redacted]

Subject: Problem with your “copyright” article.

It would probably be better than people associating it with having a tiny dick, ignorant stupid people still get laid, your mother for example.

-

From [redacted]

Subject: Problem with your “copyright” article.

Fine, you’re the one who looks stupid when people realise you don’t know the difference between copyright and trademark law.

-

To [redacted]

Subject: Problem with your “copyright” article.

I do know the difference, I helped write and research an article on copyright law, do you think I just pulled my entries out of my ass, wrote them and submitted them to the review process, all without reading up on the subject? If you really do think that, who looks more stupid?

The guy who got paid to write an article on something he apparently didn’t understand at all, or the guy who messages and insults a guy who’s literally paid to be sarcastic and witty and expects a serious answer?

Cheers.

-

I never got a message back, in retrospect I feel bad for this exchange, but I was annoyed and felt the time invested would be wasted if I didn’t publish it.

One thought on “Nobody Likes a Smartass

  1. Out of all your email exchanges I think this is probably your worst as rather than doing your usual intelligent comebacks you just repeatedly call him mindless insults.

Leave a Reply

