Help Karl’s Sister, Earn Karma. Update With Message From My Sister.

Update: My sister wanted me to pass on this message to everyone who has sent her a nice message.

428101_541301529223054_135286280_n

Update 5th February: My sister is over the worst of her illness and I’d like to thank everyone who sent her a message, tweet, comment ect. I was genuinely surprised at the sheer, overwhelmingly positive response I got. But more than anything you all helped show a child that magic and wonder still exists in the world when she was at her most vunerable.

Thank you.

Earlier today I got a chilling phone call from my brother informing me that my 8 year old sister had been diagnosed with a collapsed, lung, this was compounded with a text confirming the worst from my mother.

If you feel the need to point out her spelling, fuck you, her daughter is in hospital.

If you feel the need to point out her spelling, fuck you, her daughter is in hospital.

So why am I telling you this? Why am I dropping a huge depressing shit on your internet time, this site is supposed to be only dedicated to entertainment, I’ve said as much before in the past. Well this post is dedicated to entertaining someone, my sister and it would be awesome if you could help.

I’ve already been criticised for making light of my sisters condition, but the reality is, I know of no other way to cope. The thought of a small child stuck in hospital, scared and confused makes me sad in ways I simply cannot express. My family is full of sadness at this moment in time, it’s not in my nature to perpetuate that, at my core, I’m still an entertainer.

arcanine

But I’m aware at the severity of this situation, I’m aware that my sister is set to endure months of pain at best and will be, at this very moment, terrified and unable to process what is happening to her. Unable to understand while she’s still in pain in a building that is to her knowledge, fucking magic and full of men who literally exist to make pain go away.

But it’s that child like mentality that I want to talk about, to my sister, the internet is quite similar. She’s still at an age where computers are for all intents and purposes, magic. They’re boxes that contain anything and will show you whatever you want provided you can kind of spell it on Google.

This is statistically how most of you will have found this site.

This is statistically how most of you will have found this site.

So I want to take advantage of that, I want to use the one thing that is making my sister the most scared (the fact she doesn’t quite understand how things work) and use it to make her feel better.

Which is why I humbly want to ask the people reading this for a favour. Create something, anything, for my sister and send it to me. I don’t care if it’s a picture you drew in 8 seconds on MS paint, a video of you singing her a song or simply an email or comment wishing her well.

Because at this moment she’s probably losing her belief that there’s some magic left in the world, she’s alone and dealing with the cold clinical reality of a hospital and fuck that noise. Magic does exist, if we want it to.

So, if you have anything you’d like to send my sister, you can send me an email at: karlsmallwood@hotmail.com

Tweet me at: https://twitter.com/KarlSmallwood

Or if you’d prefer, simply comment below. Her name is Jamie and she kicks all kinds of ass.

All kinds.

All kinds.

169 thoughts on “Help Karl’s Sister, Earn Karma. Update With Message From My Sister.

  1. Jamie, watch this space, I’m gonna do my best to bring you some extra special awesome…plus, I’m gonna make a video of karl eating a burger so big, that he will become the next santa :)

    • Hey Jaimie!
      I’m a girl named Dylan (weird huh?) I’m sorry you’re stuck in the hospital :( but I hope you’re getting lots of attention and gifts :D My younger brother had to have kidney surgery when he was your age, and I know it wasn’t any fun, but you’ll get better :)
      I also hope you’re a reader, or that you have something to do while you sit around! Nothing gets you better than keeping occupied and making the time go by :)
      Get better soon! And know that lots of people are thinking about you :D

    • Hey Jamie,

      I am a 34 years old father of identical triplets (3 boys)! They chose to come to this planet early, and were born really small. ‘Cause they were in rush, they had to spend 3 months in the hospital, where one of them had a collapsed lung, and another had a really bad infection, but guess what….they came home, and they are doing perfectly fine…this was 15 months ago!!! Just like my kids I know that this crappy sickness will get it’s butt kicked by your awesomeness!!!!!

      A big kiss from Brazil, to you and your family…..

  2. Dear Jamie,

    My name is Rogan and I lived with your big brother Karl for a year. As you know, looking after Karl is a lot of hard work and you’ve done a great job of stopping him do anything too daft (so far). Kudos kiddo. I look forward to hearing about your upcoming adventures together and I know you’ll be back on your feet and showing him who’s boss again in no time. Get well soon my awesome friend.

    Best wishes from the Rogie Bear.

  3. Jamie, you are going to kick some serious sickness butt.!!! I’m over in massachusetts in the states and I am wishing you a speedy recovery. The docs at hospital will make you well in no time. <3 hang in there wee one.

  4. Dear Jamie,

    Hi, my name is Lee Vervoort. I would just like to say that I hope you get well and have a speedy recovery. Your brother Karl writes some incredible articles and I like reading them. When I read this I immediately wanted to stop by and wish you the very best. You get well sweetheart.

  5. Jamie

    If you have made it this far in your in her young and amazing life with Karl as a brother, then kicking double pneumonias butt or a collapsed lung should be easy for someone as cool, amazing amd awesome, like you. You will have stories to tell all your friends. I was in hospital once for 96 days, I had fun scaring the nurses and the x-ray people. They didn’t like it but I really did! I got to watch all the tv I wanted and pick out the shows. I know its scary but you will be better very soon because you are super amazing.

    Take care my young dear,
    Skooby

  6. Hi Jamie!

    My name’s Liz. I know you don’t know me, but I was sent here via a friend and wanted to tell you I was sending well wishes and healing thoughts your way. I know being in the hospital is really scary, especially when you’re young and don’t know exactly what all is going on! I spent a lot of time in the hospital as a kid myself with pneumonia and collapsed lungs. But you’re gonna be kicking butt in no time at all girl. You got a lot of people thinking about you and loving you! Just keep your head up and keep smiling. :) Lots of well wishes sweetie.

    Liz Spencer

  7. Hi,
    I would love to send a little gift to your sister. I have a Pink TY Beanie Baby Sock Monkey that needs a home. Just send me the mailing address! :-)

  8. Dear Jamie,
    My name’s Brendan and I live in Texas, in the states. If you’ve never been to Texas, all you really need to know is that it’s very big, very hot, and there are way too many cows. Anyway, I’m writing you to let you know that even as far away as Texas, people are thinking about you. Good luck.
    Brendan

    • Hi Jamie,
      My Name is Gavin and I live in Australia (Sydney to be exact). If you have never been to Australia its a lot like Texas only Bigger and hotter and way more cows. I’m writting tro let you know that even on the other side of the world people are wishing you a speedy recovery.

      P.S. The Kangaroos say ‘Hi’

      Good Luck
      Gavin

  9. Hey Jamie,
    I know you don’t know me, but I’m Isaac and I live over in America and I’ve never left, not even to go to Canada. And even though I don’t know a lot about a lot of stuff, I know about not giving up and how awesome little sisters are. I can’t imagine either of my little sisters being in major pain, so I’ve got the world’s greatest video about kicking the butt of painful things for you – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ce3uR16BbWs
    Jamie, you be that zebra, ok?
    Get better soon!

  10. Hi Jamie!
    I know you don’t know me, but my name is Melanie. I live in Australia and I just wanted to let you know that even though you’re scared, you will kick this things butt! Because little sisters are awesome, and so are you. Remember you have people everywhere thinking about you and wishing you well! :)
    Get well soon!
    Melanie.

  11. Hi Jamie – I’m all the way over in Boston, Massachusetts thinking about you. My little boy who is 7 has had pneumonia 5 times, so we know how scary it is. You’re very brave and I’ll bet Karl and your folks are very proud of you. I hope the hospital isn’t too yucky. In America, we always get jello with our meals in the hospital, I don’t know why. I hope Karl can sneak you in some snacks and maybe a stuffed animal. Get well soon!!

  12. Hi Jamie, my name is Jason and I live right in the middle of the U.S., in Colorado! I think your big brother is pretty cool, so you must be pretty cool, too. I wanted to tell you that the exact same thing that’s happened to you, happened to me when I was only 7. I felt pretty crummy for awhile, but doctors fixed me right up and I was back to normal before too long at all! (And your doctors are probably better than mine, ’cause I’m pretty old!)
    So don’t worry sweetie, they’ll fix you up too. Since Isaac already gave you an inspiring video to watch, I’ll just give you this video of cats who like playing in water.

    Get well soon!

  13. Here you go. I toiled all night on this:

    There once was a girl named Jamie
    Who got sick and made us all say, “Oh blimey”
    If that rhyme was off a bit
    It’s cuz I’m American, not a Brit
    So I’ll just wish for your lungs to stop being so lame-y

  14. Hi Jamie! I’m Josh. I wrote an article with your brother once. I wrote all the funny bits, and then he came along and stank it up. I forgave him though, because I heard he had a pretty cool sister.

    I was gonna record an awesome drum solo that you could listen to while you played Pokemon, but then I realized that I don’t have a drum set or any way to record it. Also, I don’t play the drums. I mean, I know how to hit things with sticks, but I’ve heard there’s more to it than that.

    Anyway, I was kidding about your brother. He’s pretty cool. Being cool, he’s probably already showed you this video, which is the coolest video on the internet. If not, here you go:

  15. Hi Jamie! I am from America, originally California but live in scorching for most of the year Arizona now. I send you best wishes and while you are recovering, tell your brother to set up a wish list for books and things from Amazon for us to send you to keep you distracted.

    Here is also some of the links for my favorite creatures, sloths, that are super duper adorable!

    http://www.youtube.com/user/SlothvilleTV

  16. Hi Jamie, I’m João, I’m from Portugal, and I wish you’ll get better soon. Kitties always make me feel better, so I drew one for you, hope you like it:

  17. Hi Jamie! If you are as awesome as your brother says you are, you should be able to kick that pneumonia’s bum! I hope people are treating you very well and you get to eat whatever you want!
    Get better soon!!
    Love Nikki xxx

  18. Dear Jamie,

    Being sick sucks. To make you feel less sick, I have gotten you an imaginary duck.

    He is right here, in the space below:

    His name is Charlie. He likes spaghetti and chocolate, but really hates postmen. Take good care of him, and keep him away from postmen.

    Get well soon,

    Max

  19. Hello, Jamie! I know you don’t know me, but a lot of people have heard about how awesome you are from your brother Karl. Everyone hopes you get better soon!

    I was poorly when I was just a little younger than you. Hospitals can seem kind of scary, but I always found that hugging my favourite teddy bear helped. Hopefully the time will fly by, and you’ll be back at home kicking ass in no time! You’ll be able to tell all your friends about how brave you were too.

    Get well soon!
    Jazz x

  20. Hi Jamie,

    My name is Amy, and I live in Edinburgh, Scotland.

    I had pneumonia once too, but I got through it, although I was coughing for quite a while afterwards (don’t worry, you will get rid of the cough).

    Anyway, I just wanted to say that I think you’re being super brave and I hope you start to feel better soon.

    Love,

    Amy x

    PS I have a cat called Arnold, he is a very silly cat, and he sleeps in funny positions, kind of like these cats: http://www.buzzfeed.com/paws/awkward-cat-sleeping-positions

    So, remember, every time you fall asleep, you are making yourself stronger – just try not to sleep like some of these cats, that would be very silly.

  21. Hi Jamie,
    Hope you get well! Im not really creative at all so i don’t know what to say..Just get well and start kickin butt again.

  22. Hey Jamie!!

    I’m Will from Sydney, Australia, and I want you to know that no matter what happens, people will care about you. Family, friends, random strangers who spend too much time reading Cracked.com, people do care and people want you to get better. We’re here for you, if you need us :) Keep your faith in humanity.

    Also, I’m going to do a pretty horrible thing here and introduce you to Avril Lavigne (if you haven’t already heard her awesomeness).

    She’s BADASS. Ask your brother about her.

    And I know hospital kinda sucks. They stab you will all sorts of needles and tubes, and not only does it hurt all over, and makes it hard to roll around, but you need help to get out of bed and go to the bathroom when they forget to unplug you from the wall. I’ve spent a fair bit of time in hospital myself.

    Do you want to know a secret?

    I’m a university student and even today, when I’m in hospital, I pretend I’m a cyborg. Part human, part robot, all awesome. Yes, it hurts, but the tubes and wires and needles become part of what makes you awesome. YOU’RE A CYBORG!!!! And really badass. You could probably come and destroy everything if you wanted, but you’re so amazing you chose not to (thought you totally could).

    Anyway, I just wanted to drop you a line to let you know that even on the other side of the world, in Australia, where the snakes roll like hula-hoops along the highways, drop bears fall from trees to maul unsuspecting tourists and the summer heat is literally causing the air to catch on fire (it was 126˚ Fahrenheit at a friend’s farm last week!) people care about other people, and we want you to get better.

    Cheer up mate!!

    - Will

  23. Hi Jamie,
    I don’t know if you’re able to use a laptop or whatever to play games, but that’s what I enjoy and my experience with hospitals is that you get bored and depressed really easily.
    So, if you have access to a laptop, here are some free games that I think you might enjoy:

    * Bobblestich http://www.newgrounds.com/portal/view/563591
    This one is a puzzle game, mostly hidden object. It’s about a girl and her little sister finding a magic place.
    * Bubbatime http://www.newgrounds.com/portal/view/525661
    This one might be a little frustrating, it’s cute but the puzzles can sometimes be hard. It’s about this creature who has gears stolen from his clock and now he needs to go to dangerous places to get the gears back. There are different ways to control time and it’s great if you like puzzles that are kind of hard.
    * Memohuntress http://www.newgrounds.com/portal/view/590255
    This one is a puzzle game about a girl who ran away from home and is trying to get back. It’s mostly hidden object.
    * William and Sly http://www.newgrounds.com/portal/view/503833
    William and Sly 2 http://www.newgrounds.com/portal/view/586756
    These are pretty platformers where you play a fox trying to help this guy he’s friends with
    * Snailiad http://www.newgrounds.com/portal/view/573352
    This one is about a snail and it’s kind of about exploring a world and saving the snail world and stuff.
    * Pokemon Tower Defense http://www.newgrounds.com/portal/view/566150
    I don’t know if pokemon is still popular with kids, but this is a pretty fun game if you like pokemon.

    Also, if you haven’t played it yet, Plants vs Zombies is a pretty cool game. It’s a game where you plant flowers that will defend your garden against zombies. I know there are zombies, but it’s not a scary type of game (though if you like scary, there are a lot of scary zombie games out there too). I’m sure your brother knows where to get it if you’re interested.

    If you don’t like games, then here are some books I remember liking when I was younger. The Chronicles of Narnia were great, but they’re a little bit depressing sometimes. Anything by Roald Dahl is weird but fun. Piers Anthony’s Xanth novels are cute, but they might be a little long for your age. If you like gross scary things, Goosebumps are pretty cool. I don’t know if the Babysitters Club series is still being written, but I remember I liked the Babysitter’s Little Sister books when I was around 3rd grade-ish. The Redwall books are pretty awesome.

    I hope you feel better soon. Getting sick during winter vacation must be a real bummer. I know it feels bad to have your family so worried, but ask them for things that you want. Comic books, food that you want (and the doctor says is okay), games, anything that you can enjoy right now. It’ll help them feel better to do things for you, and having as much fun as you can might actually help you get better.

    Best wishes,
    Sunny

  24. Dear Jamie,

    I never know what to say to make people feel better, but I was thinking maybe you would like to learn about cats while you are laying up? I have found a very educational video about cats, so if you like cats you should watch it maybe.

    Maybe that’s not so much your thing. Whether it is or not, you have an awesome brother and I hope very much that you get better soon.

    Care from a stranger,
    FakeKraid

  25. Hi. I’m horrible at making comedic, catchy comment, so here’s a simple wish-you-well.

    Oh, and I’m from Hong Kong, if you want an idea of how far Karl’s message has reached.

    Because this is the Internet, have a kitten.

  26. Girls are stronger than guys, that being said, I’m a guy, I’ve been in your situation, you’re going to become even awesomer at breathing then before. Thus just means that in 10 years when you’re jogging for fun, you’re being awesome, while those around you are hating each stride. Be great, have fun, eat ice cream, and take a wheelchair for a ride, because they roll so smooth in a hospital!

  27. Mpendwa Jamie,

    May you get well soon. Were I not typing this on a brown-market phone in Tanzania, I would make something for you. Instead all I can offer is Swahili.

    Pole sana sana! Ugwa pole! Shika uguvu na piga ugonjwa hii kama mpira! Miungu wakubariki na twatumaini utajisikia poa bado kidogo!

  28. I hope your sister makes a full, speedy recovery. No child should ever have to go through this, and I agree with you, I feel sad knowing this happens. Keep us updated.

    Also, great Cracked article. =]]

  29. A curious young fellow called Perkins
    Was terribly fond of small gherkins.
    One day after tea
    He ate ninety three
    And pickled his internal workings.

    get well soon Jamie!

  30. Hi Jamie,

    I don’t know you, or your brother. I just happened to read one of his (admittedly not very funny) articles on a silly website. I hope you feel better soon. Being sick really sucks, but at least you are getting a little bit Internet-famous. Also, don’t use words like ass till you are older or you’ll end up like your brother. And I think we can agree, that would not be cool.

    Best wishes for a speedy recovery!

  31. Well, Jamie, you have no choice but to get well. You see, someone has to kick your brother’s ass for daring to post your story without your permission. And you that position, as it your right as a sister to nag your brother to death over any thing that could be perceived as a mistake. Who’s going to do that better than you?

  32. Jamie!! You brave, strong girl! Get better soon, as your brother clearly needs you as his butt-kicking role model. Sometimes big brothers need lessons in butt-kickery, too. That’s why we little sisters need to be there for them, right? Keep your chin up, your dukes up and use this time to sweet talk big bro into some new good books to read! Best wishes all the way from Florida, where we agree that little sisters like you are the best!

  33. Hi Jamie, I hope you get well soon. I was trying to think about something funny I could share with you and I remembered this vid. It’s old, maybe you’ve seen it before, but I hope it can steal a smile from you.

  34. Jamie, You are a super brave little girl! My daughter has fought cancer for 5 years and kicked it’s butt, so I know how strong girls are! Keep fighting, and stay strong wee one and know that people as far away as Washington state in the US (where everything is green and WET) are thinking of you and wishing you well.
    Marci (Shelby, Warrior Princesses Mom)

  35. C’mon Jamie!
    I’m praying for you!

    Also, if you want to make her believe in that magic in the world, show her some of the “People are Awesome” YouTube clips. There’s like rapping flight attendants, 8 year olds who can break dance better than grown men, and people doing all sorts of unbelievably epic things.

  36. Karl, I am terribly sorry your sister is so ill. Her poor lungs and your poor heart! Not to mention the heart of your dear mother. How much it hurts to see your loved ones in pain. The helplessness is often the worst part. Second only to the fear. However, eight year olds are tough. Seriously, much more than you would expect. (Tell him, Jamie) She will never forget you “making light” of her situation. A little lightness and laughter, from one who knows this is no joke, is exactly what she needs.

  37. These are bioluminescent phytoplankton. Bioluminescence is a natural chemical reaction that happens when a micro-organism in the water reacts with oxygen. When washed ashore by the tides, the phytoplankton’s chemical energy is turned into light energy, illuminating the waves. It’s very pretty.
    I hope you feel better soon, Jamie. :)

  38. Dear Jamie,

    I’m very sorry to hear you’re sick right now. I remember when someone very close to me got pneumonia and started hallucinating. We were all scared. But he pulled through.

    Well, the odds are on YOUR side. You’ll get better soon. Then you’ll get back to school, your friends, and a normal life.

    And you can work hard in school, and study stuff like dinosaurs and why stars explode and what those bugs outside are up to all day long.

    Kick some butt the next few days! Love,

    Daniel Snyder, Ph. D.
    Dublin, Georgia USA

  39. hi Jamie! i hear you are awesome, and i sincerely hope you get better soon. and once you do get better, you have my permission to MILK THIS. you want a dog or cat or hedgehog and you’re told no? just mention ‘collapsed lung’ and leave the room, as whoever told you no pulls up petfinder.com. or you know, whatever you want that may or may not involve cute animals.

    you will not only get better, you will THRIVE.

  40. Hi Jamie

    Get well wishes from the Isle of Wight! Hon, it sucks butt to be sick and feel crappy. So have fruit, get sleep, listen to mommy (cause she does know best, really) and watch this stuff…


    (cause, panda, right?)

    http://awkwardfamilyphotos.com/2010/06/03/window-display/

    (maybe the best photo, ever)


    (Bwaaaaa!)

    And Karl’s articles aren’t that bad, but then he probably steals most of his material from you.

    Feel better soon honey.

    xoxoxoxo

  41. Hello gorgeous! Being in the hospital is no fun..I know, but on the up side when you are as cute as you are, the nice nurses and doctors are EXTRA nice! I truly hope your time in the hospital is brief so you can get to the fun stuff…bragging to your friend about how you can now , officially, do anything! Get well soon so you can get back to being extra awesome! -A Friend in Las Vegas

  42. Hey Jamie
    I’m Cecile, and I live in Wales. I wanted to tell you that I wish you all the best in your recovery, I know it’s not going to be easy, but you seem like a cool girl, so I’m sure you’ll be ok. In the meantime, I don’t know what sort of music you like, but my stepdaughter who’s 9 loved this music video, so I hope you like it too!
    Lots of hugs xxxx

  43. Hi Jamielou

    My name is Katrina and I am from Ottawa Canada! (GO SENS GO ~ 4-1)
    Don’t know what else to say love other than everything comes to pass and here’s wishing to a speedy recovery! Until then try not to go stir crazy :P
    Quick, easy and free to make:

    ps. (strategically place these around your room and then explain its like a weird Canadian thing where people are supposed to ensure these paper basket things are always full of candy – weird eh?)

    Hope you feel better love bug!

  44. Get well soon, Jamie! Because I’m a nurse and I say so! hee hee hee. You’re lucky you have a big brother who loves you so much. I do too! Hoping you get all better really quickly!

  45. Hello Jamie,

    Unfortunately I don’t have much to give, as English is not my native language I do what I can ;) I hope you’ll get better Honey, I really do, and gie you all the best I can from North West of France. Here’s for you, I hope it will make you laugh as much as it did to me:

    Lots of love from the crepes’ and French fries country, and hope to hear from you soon.

    Jen

  46. Hi Jamie!

    I’m sorry to hear you’re in the hospital, but hope that you’ll get better soon. To keep you smiling, I’m sending you some pictures of my cat. His name is Antonio because he looks a little bit like Puss in Boots from Shrek, so my husband and I named him for Antonio Banderas. We mostly call him Toni–except for our two year old son, who insists on calling him simply “kitty.”

    I apologize that I’m not good at forums, so I’ll just have to provide links.

    This is Toni playing with one of our son’s rattles:

    Here he is on the back of our couch:

    And here he has been swallowed by the couch:

    Hope that helps and that you’re not in the hospital too much longer. Stay strong!

    Lori and Antonio

  47. Jaimie,
    Your brother has mentioned that the hospital can be a scary place, and it reminded me of the funny way my mom used to scare my sister into drinking her milk. My sister and I are very old, and she is lactose intolerant- but no one knew that existed in the long ago 1980′s. So parents were always rolling their eyes if a kid swore that “milk makes me sick”, and insisting we try it anyways. My mom was an ortho nurse- that means that her part of the hospital dealt with folks who had broken bones. Mostly from motorcycle accidents. She would bring my sister in to meet patients, and these big scary biker dudes would play along and tell my little sister that the reason they were laying in a hospital bed in multiple casts was because THEY DIDN”T DRINK THEIR MILK. Their bones just “gave up” and broke because they didn’t get any calcium. Mean, huh? Nurses have very strange senses of humor. But they do really care, and try their hardest to make you feel better. I hope you have a very speedy recovery kido !

  48. Hey, Jamie! You may not know it, but this is your chance to have a story to guilt trip your future kids (and maybe your parents) into anything! I hope you’re back to feeling good soon. I know you must be awesome to have a brother who loves you so much. My favorite thing to do when I’m sick is to listen to books on tape. Have you ever heard of Pippi Longstocking? I bet you’re tougher than she is, and she can lift a horse! feel better soon!

  49. God bless you, Punkin! You’re going to be fine, you’re in my prayers and my 9 & 10 year old’s prayers too! They are Mia & Dayna. ;) Take care sweetie.

  50. Just some guy saying I hope you are well. I have a younger brother myself and I would be very worried if he were sick.

    Don’t worry, my wife says you are going to be okay and as she likes to tell me often, she is always right.

  51. Hi Kari

    I’m not the writer your brother is, so unfortunately I don’t have anything really witty to entertain you with, however I am sending my deepest wishes that you get better soon.

    Take care.

    -Jeremey

  52. Hey Jamie,
    It sucks that you’re in hospital at such a young age you should be outside chasing butterflies barefoot in the grass.
    Just know that the wonderful people in the hospital are going to help you get better so that you can do anything your mind can think of.

    PS. this is a perfect time to ask your parents for a new pet. I vote for a dog :)
    get better.

    - Emma from Melbourne, Australia

  53. Hey, Kari,
    My little brother had a collapsed lung. Now’s he’s spoiling my kids cause that was 30 years ago and he’s been fine for a long time. I’m glad you and your brother are so close! Focus on getting well and buying a drum set for your niece or nephew some day!

    Mel

  54. Jamie,

    Feel better in knowing that you’re probably going to be pretty hot when you grow up. This will make your brother nuts, having to chase guys away. Guys with bad intentions. He’ll do it cuz he loves you, the same reason he’s checking in with you now.

  55. Hey Jamie,

    Just wanted to say this. I know you don’t know me, or any of us. But we all support you and are wishing you the absolute best. Stay strong and hopeful. There’s still some magic left in the world, and you’ll get through this.

    Sincerely,
    An Unknown Friend

    PS: To Karl and his family:

    It’s a rough time, but keep your head up. It’ll work its way out.

  56. Hello Jamie,

    I am a time traveler from the mystical realm of the World Wide Web. Seriously. If you don’t believe me, then allow me to prove my claim with audio and video from the past, brought to you through the amazing technology of your time.

    Not sure if that’ll pop up immediately try clicking the link, time travel is werird like that. Werird is the word we use to describe unusual things, kind of like how you use “weird”, though that word just seems werird to me. I hope you enjoy your gift from the past, and get better soon!

    Sincerely,

    Hector, Amateur Arachronaut

  57. I don’t know if any of your family believes in God, but I’ll be praying for you all either way.

    To Jamie,

    I know it sucks having to go through all of this, but the good part is that after it’s over, you’ll be able to one-up every story anyone tells you for the rest of your life!

    But maybe you should stop knife-fighting all those ninjas; I know you’re too awesome to just sit back even -after- they injured you, but you should go easy on them.

  58. Hey Jaime,
    like many other people who have replied I don’t know you, but the one thing we all have in common is that we’re wishing you a speedy recovery. Feel better soon and remember anyone can create magic.

    Sincerely
    Anelyse

  59. Just saw this through the Cracked article. Glad to hear that you’re home now. All the best and I hope you get better soon.

  60. Hi Jamie!

    Thought I’d let you know that even here in Ghana (in West Africa) people are rooting for you to feel better soon!

    Normally I live in the American state of Oregon, and right now I’m very far from home. Sometimes being in this strange place where I can’t understand what people are saying to me (since they don’t always speak English) makes me feel scared and lonely, just like spending time in a hospital can make you feel too. But I tell myself every day that I’m here to grow and become a stronger person, and you’re in the hospital for the same reason – to grow stronger – and when you finally walk out of there you’ll be so much tougher than you were before.

    (Or, if you prefer, you can cha-cha out of there – it’s what I’d do).

    Get well soon!
    Katie (but here they call me Afia)

    And if you need a good laugh watch this video, makes me laugh everytime:

  61. Hi Jamie,

    I hope you feel better soon, it’s good to hear you’re home now. I hear you’re awesome, and you know what awesome little sisters do when they don’t feel well? They order their older brothers around (at least that’s what my little sis does). So have fun getting your parents/brothers to read for you, and carry things and make silly faces and get well soon.

    Best wishes for Spain!

  62. Hi there, Jamie.
    My name is Khizer and I live all the way across the world in a little country called Pakistan. I recently heard that you’re not feeling too great!
    “That’s absolutely terrible!”, I thought, “When Jamie’s sad, so is everyone else on earth. What can I do to try and cheer her up?”
    I decided that a letter would be a fine thing to send you.
    I know that being in the hospital sucks, and I know that feeling sick sucks too. If it ever starts to suck too much, just remember that there are people all over the world who want you to
    feel better. Remember to stay happy and strong, dear.
    Your friend,
    Khizer

  63. I sincerely hope you’ll get better. Please try and hang in there. (Totally looks like you can kick all kinds of a** in that picture. )

  64. Get well soon chicky! You and your brother rock. And he is right you are some kind of super hero that the sickness monter had to attack you twice. That means you will just have to kick its ass that much harder :)

  65. Hi, Jamie!

    My name is Monica and I hope you get well soon. Do you like jokes? Here’s one of my favorite videos with a bunch of really bad jokes in under 4 minutes: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hTR2tVr2a6A

    I hope it makes you laugh. And if you don’t laugh at the jokes you can tell em to other people and then laugh at them. ;)

  66. Hello Jamie! Whenever my daughter is ill, she likes to watch babies and animals on Youtube. This is her absolute favorite, a hippo at the T.O. zoo.

  67. Your brother spells his name wrong but he loves you very much and is thinking of you. Get well soon sweetie and have an awesome day.

  68. Hi Jamie!
    I’m glad to hear you’re back home again. Just keep fighting, keep your chin up, and remember; people all around the world are cheering you on.

    Lots of love,

    Sherida (from the Netherlands)

  69. Hey Jamie!

    I worked in a hospital for 5 years. The doctors and nurses that work there can do amazing things and I’m sure you’ll feel better soon.

    I was thinking of how brave you must be to go through what you’re doing and decided I should do something brave as well. The place I snowboard at has a huge jump that I’m always a bit too scared of to do. This week I’m going to go huge off it and think about you.

    Get well soon!

  70. Jamie I know I am a stranger too you but reading this has touched my heart and I wish you all the best with recovery we all go through test and it’s never anything that we cant handle much love too you -the anonymous drug addict~ P.S. Drug addicts have feelings too

  71. You’ll be back on your feet in no time, &whupping anyone who doubted you, Jamie. Wishing you all the best from the stateside desert in Arizona, USA.

  72. I know hospitals suck, Jamie, so I’m glad to know that you’re home! Focus on getting better and enjoying the extra attention you get lol!
    Lots of Love,
    Julia from PA

  73. Hi Jamie!
    It’s good to know that you’re doing better. I hope that you make a full recovery soon. Make your brother proud <3

    xo Nash

  74. Jason De! I’m not talented enough to send you anything cool. :(

    I don’t even know you or your brother. But he always makes me laugh which is one of the most important things in the world. I hope you get better soon so he can make you laugh too! If your doctors need help tell them it’s not Lupus. If they’re as funny as your brother, they’ll understand.

  75. Hi Jamie,

    this is my 34th attempt at this introductory sentence and I think I’ve finally got it right. Anyway, since I’m not good at saying meaningful or funny stuff I will just cut to the chase. Girls your age have no business being ill like that, it’s just not right, so I implore you to reconsider. I really hope that you can see the advantage of not being ill and decide to get well soon. Yes, hospital food is great and all that but please don’t be selfish. The rest of us really want you to be healthy again, especially since your brother promised us an unspecified amount of karma which many of us badly need (honestly, I’m not really sure he has that much to spare but we take what we can get).
    In case you’re wondering what this strange person from the internet is going on about and whether he knows how to talk to 8 year old girls (spoiler: probably not) at least know this: a lot of people from all over the world think you should put much more effort into annoying your brother and you need to be fit and healthy to do that. So get started.

    Gabriel, Germany

  76. Jamie, I know how much hospitals suck. Hopefully you are able to eat lots of ice cream to help lift your spirits. Glad to hear you’re doing better. Stay strong!!! Love from Minnesota

  77. There once was a princess named Jamie
    admired by all for her bravery.
    Her brother, the prince,
    was completely convinced
    and knew all his subjects would agree.

    If you’re like my 8 year old cousin, you might enjoy this sparkly pony puzzle game: http://ponyvspony.artix.com/!

    Get well soon, Jamie! Hospitals aren’t fun, but going home definitely is. We are all hoping you feel better!

  78. Hi Jamie! It’s great to hear that you’re back home.

    My name is Colin (“Zeke” is just my secret identity), and I live in Canada. My thoughts and prayers are with you, but you can’t see those, so I thought I’d also send you a moose. Here in Canada we have extra. Unfortunately, it turns out you can’t send live animals over the internet, so I’ll just have to put it here.

    Specifically, this is a bull moose, which is what boy moose are called. So now you know one of the reasons Bullwinkle got his name. (If you haven’t heard of Bullwinkle, your folks aren’t raisin’ you right.)

    Feel better soon!

  79. Dear Jaime,
    I’m sorry you’re sick, but how awesome that your brother got all these people to send/make things for you, right? I wish I had seen this earlier, when I was at work. I work with awesome people, and I will get them all together to make something for you to cheer you up. Watch out, it will come soon!
    I hope you get better quickly, being sick sucks.

  80. Hey Jamie.

    Hope you get better soon and may it never happen to you again.

    Have a laugh ! Best medicine I could think of.
    How do you catch a polar bear? Make a hole in the ice and put peas around the hole. When the polar bear comes to take a pee you kick him in the hole.

  81. Jamie you’re not allowed to be sick at your age so you need to get better soon. Trust the doctors, they’re nice people and they’ll make you feel better in no time.

  82. Jamie, there are only two good things about hospitals: ice cream, and getting gifts. I suggest you write out a list of toys for your brother to get for you. He writes for the internet, so I’m sure he has a ton of money.

    I hope you get better soon, and here’s a video from a random person in the USA sent to make you feel a little bit better:

  83. Hi Jamie! I don’t know you or your brother, but I thought I’d take a minute to send you a little note to get well soon. I have to go into the hospital soon because I’m having a baby, and I know how scared I am so I can’t even imagine how brave you have to be with everything you’ve gone through. I just hope when my baby grows up he’s half as awesome as you are! Feel better soon :)

  84. I have a daughter your age and I hate the thought of a child suffering. But hang in there! You are going to be better soon. You brother makes people laugh on a very funny website. Ask him to show you some of the articles that are “age appropriate”. Feel better sweetie and get well soon.

  85. Hi, Jamie!
    I have a daughter your age. When she gets mad at people, she threatens to “punch them in the sack!”.
    You take this illness, and you punch it in the sack for all its worth, okay?
    Twice.

  86. Hey Jamie! I’m writing from Toronto, Canada! Hope you feel better really soon! We had a very famous Smallwood out in Newfoundland – Joey Smallwood. Any relation?

    Take care and I hope you have a speedy recovery!

  87. Hi Jamie! My name is Brandon and I’m from Montreal, Canada. I heard about you from your brother Karl and his article on Cracked and I just wanted to say that you are an extremely brave and tough girl and to keep being awesome. I can’t wait to read the news that you are out of the hospital and kicking as…butt again. Alot of people are wishing you a speedy healthy recovery, myself included. Take care Jamie! :)

  88. Jamie, you really are as awesome, if not more so, as the man who wrote this article says you are. And while in one sense his comment about the pneumonia attacking you was a joke, I also feel it is true in many ways. You are an unbelievable strong young woman and one of the worst diseases imaginable has to attack you twice to even have a chance at a fair fight with you. I believe you will win the fight once again and put this enemy to rest for good. I am bad about being forgetful but I promise I will make an entertaining little video with my family to brighten your day while you are conquering this challenge.

  89. Hey Jamie,

    Listen to your brother. You are so very awesome that you had to get DOUBLE pneumonia to even experience a blip. I was knocked out by regular old pneumonia at your age, so I know much it sucks. But I want you to know that there are loads of us out here rooting for you, and we expect to see some pictures when you get better! I am sending you some Motown get well soon love, so I hope you feel better post haste! Feel better sweetie!

    -Shanon

  90. Hi Jaime,

    I’m a grown up and I got pneumonia once, too. I spent time in the hospital. I got better, you’ll get better even faster, though, because you have the super wonder power of being 8. 8 is the best age in the world! Keep it up, strong girl!

  91. Hi Jamie,

    It might not seem like it right now, what with you bring in a hospital and all, but I bet you are super strong and are going to kick this pneumonia’s butt so hard it will know not to mess with you for too long.

    Get better soon, little one.

    Greetings from Uganda, Africa.

  92. Wow – your brother must be a lot of fun to be around huh? This is pretty awesome :) I hope and pray you get better soon honey. I have four kids – I know how strong you kids can be. HUGS Get healthy fast!!

  93. Hi Jamie,

    I know that being sick is no fun at all. But I also know that you’ll pull through. Don’t ever forget how many people are rooting for you to get better, from your family to your doctor to people on the internet. Don’t ever give up.

    This is my favorite Weird Al parody video; it makes me smile and I hope you’ll like it too. Take care.

  94. I reckon you’re going to have to write an article for cracked. The top seven strangest (or whatever) comments made by a stranger to a girl in hospital.
    Get well quickly and stay well too.
    Cheers

  95. Hey Jamie!

    You know why you are in a magic building? Because when you turn 8, everyone gets one super special power if they think really really hard. I can turn invisible, ask your brother about his too. So if you think hard enough you’ll get your power and be out of the building.

    Love from Pakistan.

  96. Hi Jamie! My name is Chris and I am from the Yukon (in case you don’t know its at the top left corner of Canada. Also, I’m pretty sure it’s where all the snow in the world comes from) A link from your brothers artical brought me here. I just wanted to say that I hope you feel better soon. Hospitals can be scary places, But not that scary when you have so many internet friends! Be stong young one!!!

  97. Hi Jamie. Here’s a cute picture of my cat and rabbit cuddling for the camera. Yes, they are siblings and the love is phenomenal. http://sphotos-b.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ash3/38036_1486124468551_5889633_n.jpg

    And here’s a picture of another cat I used to catsit wearing a reindeer suit! http://sphotos-a.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-snc6/224006_1065303868299_6327_n.jpg

    And finally, here’s a picture of my rabbit being a princess. http://sphotos-a.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-prn1/154494_1636690472607_6531404_n.jpg

    Kick that pneumonia’s butt!

  98. Hi, Jamie! I may not be as funny as your brother, but I’ve gotta try.
    I know this guy who can move things with his mind. He can make orange juice from concentrate.

    My cat wants to say hi. He says, “Mow, mrrow!” Here, I’ll let him write. jsiajnmSINJSndRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRm ,

    Translation: Paper is yummy.
    (I don’t believe him.)

    My cat likes eating people food
    He will eat cat food, too
    But if you share your food with him
    He’ll share his food with you.

  99. Hey Jamie.
    My name is Jared Wilkinson. I’m from Maine (the state that’s almost Canada), and I just wanted to say that even from all the way up here in the mountains and woods, I hope you feel better soon! You’re brother seems to love you very much and he’s convinced me that you’re pretty cool! So I hope you feel better and keep being awesome!

  100. Dear Jamie,
    My name is Molly and I am from Chicago in the US. I’m sending good thoughts and a cyber hug from over here. Get well soon!

  101. Hi Jamie! My name is Kait. I am sending lots of good thoughts your way. Also, I will be sending you pictures of cute animals (my friends’ and family’s pets, as well as other cute things I find) as I find them, because even as an “adult” I still find that cute animal pictures are the BEST THING EVER when you’re having a rough day. Feel better!

  102. Hello Jamie, I am Sarai from Texas and I’m rooting for you in your fight against pnuemonia(even it’s name is silly, no?). Go Jamie! Kick that silly pnuemonia’s butt!!

  103. Hi Jamie, It’s been a while since your super awesome brother posted this so I hope you are in recovery now. I can’t imagine how difficult this has been for you, but it sounds like you have loads of family and friends to support you. I wish you a full and complete recovery with many wonderful adventures ahead. You and your brother are lucky to have each other – I have an older brother and he’s super awesome too. This unfortunate event will make you stronger in the end, although I’m sure it doesn’t feel that way at the moment. Best wishes to you, your family and your friends :)

  104. Hey, Jamie! My name’s Lucía, I’m from Argentina and I’m still learning English, so sorry for my grammar mistakes! I wanted to be a part of this enormous and magical thing that your loving brother has created and send you my best wishes for you to recover! I don’t know how it is to be in a hospital, but I don’t think you’re having a bad time considering all these people around the world wishing you the best, and the fact that you have incredible people near you making you feel better; my message is for them too. Together you can endure anything! (I’m not sure “endure” is the right word, but that’s what Google told me) Virtual kisses, hugs and high-fives. You’re awesome just for had fought this long (Is it well said?) Sorry again for my grammar, I wish you the best! xo :D

    Oh, and if you ever hear (like in fifteen years, maybe more) about an Argentinian president named Lucía, that could mean that I reached my dream. So, kick some illness butts and wait to see that day! I know it’ll come :)

  105. Pingback: Help Me Fix The World, Earn Money. « Internet Adventures.

  106. Osiyo! (That’s Cherokee for hello) Cherokees are a type of Indian, but we don’t do much like they used to. My name is Jared but people call me Rooster like the boy chicken. I’ve been hurt real bad before but they took me to the hospital and even though I got scared at times the nice people there helped me get better so that I could come home and go back to running round bugging people, like my little sister, she’s nine and her name is Vivian. Anyways I know things are tough but be the little soldier that you are and get through this so you can pick on your big brother( he’s a funny guy) and ill pray for ya! Get well soon!

  107. Pingback: It’s Time to Fix the Entire Fucking World. | Internet Adventures.

Leave a Reply

